Meili shuffles critic portfolios following NDP by-election win

Fresh off a convincing win in the recent Regina Northeast by-election, NDP Leader Ryan Meili today announced a shuffle of critic responsibilities for his opposition caucus that positions them as Saskatchewan’s government-in-waiting ahead of the 2020 election.

“This team represents real leadership for Saskatchewan, both in the Legislature and in communities throughout the province,” said NDP Leader Ryan Meili. “Together, we will continue to provide a strong opposition that will hold the Sask. Party to account for their harmful decisions while also championing ideas that will help build a better future for Saskatchewan.”

Yens Pedersen, the newest addition to the Opposition Caucus, will become the Critic for Agriculture, Environment, and the Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation.

“We’re extremely happy and fortunate to add such a hard working and dedicated MLA like Yens,” Meili said. “With his rural roots and his record of strong community service, we know he will fit well in his critic areas.”

Danielle Chartier will take on the new role of Mental Health and Addictions Critic to such a prominent and troubling issue in Saskatchewan. Vicki Mowat takes over as Health Critic.

Nicole Rancourt, a social worker by profession, will take over as Social Services Critic. Trent Wotherspoon will serve as the new Finance Critic.

Standing up for teachers and students while the Sask. Party fails to properly fund education remains a priority for Carla Beck, Critic for Education and now also for Advanced Education. Meanwhile Cathy Sproule will continue to push for answers to the many remaining questions around the Sask. Party’s mismanagement of the Global Transportation Hub and Regina Bypass.

“With a strong and united team of MLAs, we are committed to continuing to earn the trust of Saskatchewan people as we move towards forming government in 2020,” Meili said. “That work starts with standing up to the bad choices of the Sask. Party while clearly articulating our own vision, highlighting our new ideas and sharing our plans to deliver on them.”

Updated Caucus and Critic Roles

Ryan Meili: Leader of the Opposition; Critic for Executive Council and Office of the Premier; Intergovernmental Affairs; Francophone Affairs; Economy and Jobs.

Carla Beck: Deputy Leader; Critic for Education; Early Learning and Childcare; Advanced Education.

Buckley Belanger: Critic for Highways and Infrastructure; Energy and Resources; Forestry.

Danielle Chartier: Critic for Mental Health and Addictions; Seniors; SaskEnergy.

David Forbes: Critic for Ethics and Democracy; Diversity, Equality, and Human Rights; Parks, Culture and Sport; Tourism Saskatchewan.

Warren McCall: Critic for First Nations and Métis Relations; Labour Relations and Workplace Safety; the Workers’ Compensation Board; Public Service Commission; SaskTel; Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation.

Vicki Mowat: Critic for Health; Status of Women; Innovation; Saskatchewan Opportunities Corporation.

Yens Pedersen: Critic for Agriculture; Environment; the Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation.

Nicole Rancourt: Critic for Social Services; Housing; Community-Based Organizations; Saskatchewan Government Insurance.

Nicole Sarauer: Critic for Justice; Corrections and Policing; Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority; the Provincial Capital Commission.

Cathy Sproule: Deputy Whip; Critic for Crown Investments Corporation; the Global Transportation Hub; the Regina Bypass; SaskPower; the Water Security Agency; SaskWater; the Provincial Secretary; SaskBuilds; Central Services; Immigration.

Doyle Vermette: Whip; Critic for Northern Saskatchewan; Associate Critic for First Nations and Métis Relations.

Trent Wotherspoon: Critic for Finance; Municipal Relations; the Provincial Disaster Assistance Program; Associate Critic for the Economy and Jobs.

Latest posts

New Democrats to Elect New Leader in June

REGINA—The Saskatchewan New Democrats set the rules and timing for a leadership contest at Provincial Council on February 26th. The new leader will be elected at a leadership convention in Regina in late June, 2022.

All Saskatchewan New Democratic Party members in good standing will be eligible to vote online or by mail-in ballot.

Share this page

Take action

Make a Donation
Sign up to Volunteer
Become a Member

Find us on social media

Find Carla Beck on social media