New Democrats add five more to their 2020 team – first five contested nominations using physical distancing

Excitement is growing in the Saskatchewan New Democrat ranks, with sixteen contested nominations completed so far ahead of the 2020 election.

This is more than three times the five contested nominations they held ahead of the 2016 election. Adapting to the public health requirements of COVID-19, members elected their nominees in virtual nomination contests, where candidates delivered their speeches via Zoom and members voted online or over the phone from May 21-May 25. Across the five contests the voter turnout was over 83% with 1,466 of the 1765 eligible members casting ballots.

The five successful candidates elected today to represent the NDP in 2020 are:

Arm River: Cam Goff
Regina Pasqua: Bhajan Brar
Saskatoon Nutana: Erika Ritchie
Saskatoon Riversdale: Ashlee Hicks
Saskatoon Southeast: Pamela Beaudin

Latest posts

New Democrats to Elect New Leader in June

REGINA—The Saskatchewan New Democrats set the rules and timing for a leadership contest at Provincial Council on February 26th. The new leader will be elected at a leadership convention in Regina in late June, 2022.

All Saskatchewan New Democratic Party members in good standing will be eligible to vote online or by mail-in ballot.

Share this page

Take action

Become a Member
Sign up to Volunteer
Make a Donation

Find us on social media

Find Carla Beck on social media