Wotherspoon elected Leader of the Official Opposition in the Legislative Assembly

Trent Wotherspoon, the MLA for Regina Rosemont, has been elected, by the NDP caucus and with unanimous support, the leader of the Official Opposition in the Legislative Assembly.

Wotherspoon was first elected in 2007 and was re-elected in 2011 and 2016. He has also served as deputy leader since 2013 and was the Opposition critic for Finance; Education; Economy; Municipal Relations and Urban Affairs. He has also been the Opposition critic for SaskPower and SaskEnergy and has also served as Chair of the Public Accounts Committee.

At the same meeting, David Forbes, the MLA for Saskatoon Centre, was elected caucus chair.

Forbes has served as caucus chair since 2011, and also was the NDP’s critic for Social Services, Labour and Human Rights.

“We are excited to have Trent as the leader of the Official Opposition and we are excited to get going on the very important work ahead,” Forbes said. “The legislature will be called back soon and there are a lot of issues that need to be addressed. All the NDP MLAs are set to work hard to hold this government to account and deliver for the people of Saskatchewan.”

On April 23, the Provincial Council and Caucus of the Saskatchewan NDP will meet together to select the interim leader of the party. 

Latest posts

New Democrats to Elect New Leader in June

REGINA—The Saskatchewan New Democrats set the rules and timing for a leadership contest at Provincial Council on February 26th. The new leader will be elected at a leadership convention in Regina in late June, 2022.

All Saskatchewan New Democratic Party members in good standing will be eligible to vote online or by mail-in ballot.

Share this page

Take action

Make a Donation
Sign up to Volunteer
Become a Member

Find us on social media

Find Carla Beck on social media